Leadership Board

Beginning January 1, 2022, Calvary United Methodist Church of Paris adopted a simplified, accountable structure for our administrative leadership. The administrative responsibilities of the Church Council, the Board of Trustees, the Committee on Staff Parish Relations, and the Committee on Finance have been combined into a single Leadership Board. This board consists of nine members nominated by the separate Committee on Nominations and Leadership Development. The members of the board are divided into three classes with three members retiring from the board each year. Retiring members are not eligible to serve a second consecutive term. 

The board is responsible for governance of the congregation. They discern, define, and cast a vision for the congregation, set goals, and evaluate effectiveness. Clergy and staff are accountable to the leadership board. 

The Leadership Board meets on the second Tuesday of each month. Meetings are open to members of the congregation, with the exception of confidential issues for which the board goes into executive session. Such issues include, but are not limited to, sensitive personnel matters; some legal concerns; and concerns around church discipline. 

The Leadership Board is accountable to the congregation through the Church Conference - consisting of all professing members of the congregation. The Church Conference is convened by the district superintendent (DS) each year, normally in the fall. The regularly scheduled meeting includes a celebration of the previous year's ministry and may include reports from ministry teams, clergy, and organizations chartered by the congregation - such as Boy Scouts, United Methodist Women, United Methodist Men, and our childcare ministry. Officers are elected, candidates for lay, licensed, or ordained ministry are approved for recommendation to the District Committee on Ministry, and a proposed budget is presented and approved by the conference.  

The DS may also call a special session - know as a "called session" by providing a minimum of ten days notice to the church leadership. The call to convene the Church Conference will include the specific business for which the conference is called, and only that business may be included in the conference. 

The simplified, accountable structure also includes ministry teams empowered to engage in the hands-on ministry of the church. These teams are organized around five areas of responsibility - hospitality, worship, Christian education, mission and service, and generosity. The ministry teams are accountable to the board through the clergy and staff. 


Charlotte Yorkson, Chairperson, Class of 2024

Barb Dunlap, Lay Leader, Lay Member to Annual Conference, Class of 2024

Tim Bullock, Class of 2024

Ginna Bowman, Class of 2023

Celeste Wilcox, Class of 2023

Randall Childres, Class of 2023

Michael Nickey, , Class of 2022

Bob Wright, Class of 2022

Lynn Patterson, Class of 2022


Facility Maintenance,  Danny Efaw

Worship,   Priscilla Tyndall

Fellowship and Member Care,  Greg Yorkson

Mission and Evangelism,  Kim Walker

Christian Education,  Patti Jenkins

Communication,  Linda Vandiver